Fake Worldwide Association of Professionals

[POSTED 6/18/19]  
Early in June, 2019 we were contacted by a woman who received an interesting email telling her that she had been selected to become part of the “2019 Worldwide Association of Professionals.”  Here is that email…

From: Professional World Wide Network <TitusDix “@” intipeggo.com>
Date: Wed, May 29, 2019 at 9:08 AM
Subject: You have been approved!

You were recently chosen as a candidate to represent your professional community in the The 2019 Worldwide Association of Professionals We are please to inform you that your candidacy was formally approved
Congratulations! https :// www.youwontheday[.]com/network-worldwide

The Publishing Committee selected you as a potential candidate based not only upon your current standing,
but focusing as well on criteria from facebook along with other executive professional directories, associations, and trade journals. https :// www.youwontheday[.]com/network-worldwide

Given your background our Director believes your profile makes a fitting addition to our online and hardcover publications. There is no fee nor obligation to be listed. As we are working off of secondary sources, we must receive verification from you that your profile is accurate.

Once finalized, your listing will share prominent registry space with thousands of fellow accomplished individuals across the globe, each representing accomplishment within their own geographical area. To verify your profile and accept the candidacy, please visit here http :// www.youwontheday[.]com/network-worldwide

Our registration deadline for this year’s candidates is coming up fast. To ensure you are included, we must receive your verification on as soon as possible. On behalf of our Committee I salute your achievement and welcome you to our association.

Want to be left out? https :// www.youwontheday[.]com/network-worldwide/?my=zxw07757c797a6ri&g=vc696c73736c3xnk&o=wym93a476e74687l&tm=rk073356a76743pgt&x=y46d7c6a72347mzj&w=pa7768746f687c7ai&wy=jzhto
or write to 600 Office Center Drive, Fort Washington, PA 19034

This email contained several immediate red flags such as:

  1. The email was not signed by anyone, nor was she given any verifiable name, business/organization, or phone number to call.
  2. The email came from the domain intipeggo[.]com.  Google can’t find any such website or business by that name.  A WHOIS search shows that the domain was registered on February 9, 2019 using a proxy service in Panama, about 4 months before this email was sent.
  3. The email referenced the domain YouWonTheDay[.]com multiple times.  This domain was also registered on February 9, 2019 and contains a redirect that will send you to another website called World-Wide-Networking[.]com
  4. Also, the domain YouWonTheDay[.]com was found to be blacklisted by the security service McAfee.

This junk was so clearly and easily identified as a Vanity Scam that it wasn’t worth pursuing any further.  We’ve written about vanity scams many times in the past.  Here are just a few links to our articles about these scams:

Recognizing Vanity Scams

Who’s Who in America (Phish Nets column June 12, 2019)

Fake International Women’s Leadership Association (Top Story April 13, 2016)