[UPDATED 2/14/24] Unfortunately, anyone can put up a website and claim they are a lawyer or Barrister. Below is a perfect example, along with lots of details why you shouldn’t believe their lies. Many of these bogus sites are created to support Nigerian 419 Advance Fee scams.  Below is a list of addional law firm websites that are fraudulent or HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS, and should be avoided.  Several of the sites we’ve listed just below are identical or nearly identical, and therefore created by the same criminal group. If you come across any suspicious law firm websites, send the links to us at fake-law-firm@thedailyscam.com.

Scott Lee Adams & Associates is a Fake Law Firm – Here’s Why….

This story of chicanery begins with a fax appearing from the Fax machine of a Massachusetts school.  It was addressed to the Head of the School and came from +1-437-885-80 [last 2 numbers missing] on Monday, June 15, 2020 at 2:29 pm.

 Office #201, 98 King St W Suite 5600
Toronto, ON MSX 1C9, Canada
Tel: +1 437 370 1892

OUR REF: SLADAMS/03722CA/06-20 Date: June 15, 2020


My name is Scott Lee Adams, a principal partner with Scott Lee Adams & Associates, a Canada based Law Firm.

Firstly, I must solicit your confidence in this transaction; this is by virtue of its nature as being utterly confidential! ThoughI know that a transaction of this magnitude will make any one apprehensive and worried, but I am assuring you that all will be well at the end of the day. I decided to contact you after series of attempt to locate members of a deceased family.

There is an unclaimed “permanent life insurance policy” insured on Payment-On-Death for Ten Million Nine Hundred Fifty Thousand Seven Hundred & Seventy-Seven Dollars (US$ 10,950,777.00) with a top life insurance Company here in Canada.  The policy holder was one of our clients. Late Abba [MATCHING LAST NAME REDACTED] an investor. He died in an accident in Canada, about ten years ago. Since his death no one has come forward for the claim and all our efforts to locate his relatives have proved unsuccessful. The insurance company code stipulates that “insured permanent policies” not claimed will be turned over to the abandoned property division of the state after about 10 years of no claim.

Therefore I ask for your consent to be in partnership with me for the claim of this policy benefit, in view of the fact that you share the same last name with the deceased. If you permit me to add your name to the documents, all proceeds will be processed on your behalf as the family member and next of kin. I wish to point out that I want 10% of this money to be shared among charity organizations while the remaining 90% will be shared between us equally.

 This is 100% risk free; I do have all necessary documentation to expedite the process in a highly professional and confidential manner. I will provide all relevant documents to substantiate your claim as the beneficiary. This claim requires high level confidentiality and may take up to fifteen (15) days, from the date of receipt of your consent.

Please contact me by Email: sladamsesq@gmail.com and sladams@sladams.com or Tel: +1 437 370 1892

If you are interested, requesting for more details and documents, which I shall furnish you, while expect a direct contact number to reach you.

Sincerely yours,
Scott Lee Adams Esq
Attorney at law


Here is the original FAX: (Click to enlarge)

The fact that an Attorney was suggesting, in writing, that the Head of School engage in fraud was remarkable of, and by itself!  However, this fraud had all the red flags of an advance fee scam of the kind favored by cybercriminals from Africa, and especially Nigeria.  What made this fraud even more interesting to The Daily Scam was the fact that the fraudsters created a domain and website to lend credibility to their scam.  The website is www.sladams.com. A WHOIS lookup tells us that this domain was registered on June 6, just 9 days before the fax was received.


The SLAdams.com website looks credible enough, though short on information.  Here are just a few screenshots.  We visited the site after making sure there was no malware lying in wait.  We hope that it will be taken down soon since we’ve reported it to several authorities. (Click images to enlarge.)

Though we could investigate this supposed law firm’s stated location in Toronto and, no doubt, find out that there is no such law firm there, or investigate the claims on its website about the many types of law services offered, or inform readers that NO ONE across the world wide web knows anything about this law firm or it’s lawyers, the easiest way for us to show readers that the Scott Lee Adams & Associates Law Firm is a complete fraud is to show you who their lawyers really are.  In the screenshot below you can see the Scott Lee Adams & Associates website lists the following partners:

Scott Lee Adams, Principal Partner
Kate KRISTOPHER, Partner
Maxwell Brian, Partner
Edmonds Rand, Partner

These names are completely fictitious and their images were stolen from two websites.  Here’s who these people really are:

“Scott Lee Adams” is really Professor Yan Cimon from the Université Laval of Quebec.  His photo was stolen from the website called ActionCanada.ca.

“Kate KRISTOPHER” is actually Attorney Danielle Edmonds with the firm Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates.

“Maxwell Brian” is actually Principal Attorney Kristopher Greenwood, head of the firm at Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates.

“Edmonds Rand” is actually Attorney Brian Maucutel  with the firm Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates.

It’s clear that the scammer who created this fake website for “Scott Lee Adams & Associates” used a mixture of the names of the real attorneys from Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates.  Another one of the real attorneys there had the first name “Rand.”

All of this proves pretty conclusively that you can’t trust anything on the Internet.  You can’t depend on the Registrars to protect us from the registration of fraudulent domain names like sladams.com. You can’t depend on web hosting services to protect us from malicious or fake domains from being posted on their web servers.  There are no Internet police.  Every time we open a browser to go on the Internet perhaps we should all see a popup first that begins with “Use at your own risk.”  Caveat Emptor!